At a loss for words...

Many folks may know, my game company hasn't had much luck in terms of credit card fraud and the works, now, I'm getting phone calls from nasty customers disputing claims, or e-mail about our company not getting products to people. Turns out, someone is scamming our site with an identical copy, check this out:

My website: www.techdiversions.com

Their website: www.psp-shop.com

 

They're disrupting our business phone line and e-mail with random callers getting scammed out of products who end up having to dispute claims. Anyone in the law field that can tell me if I can do anything about it? Their 'whois' information says its in London, that could be false to, but any help would be great.

 



Posted by codemonkey on Sun Sep 7, 2008 @ 6:26 pm EDT | 11 Comments
Holy shit man!!! They actually copied the files code for code.

Posted by doodirock on Sun Sep 7, 2008 @ 6:52 pm EDT

umm... wouldn't sony be po'd with a name like psp-shop? It sounds very much like an official PSP store type of thing. Maybe just notify Sony?

Posted by J-Cat on Sun Sep 7, 2008 @ 6:52 pm EDT

That's fucked up... Super fucked up...

Posted by DSmooth on Sun Sep 7, 2008 @ 6:57 pm EDT

I emailed their hosting provider (or, the one that shows up in the traceroute) to tell them a customer is abusing their system.

Not sure what else I can do.

Posted by codemonkey on Sun Sep 7, 2008 @ 7:11 pm EDT

I would also put up a notification for your customers on your site informing them that this activity is taking place and that you are taking steps to get it resolved. Its a good way to save face with your customers. I would also check your logs for the person that grabbed that amount of data from you. He should show up, the issue is when did this occur to correlate it. You can then not only block the IP address but also check the ISP that the person was connected with....just my 2c

Posted by Knaab on Sun Sep 7, 2008 @ 7:39 pm EDT

Code, if you have some $$ give Ed Skoudis a call. He has done international investigations and knows lawyers that could help you.


+1.202.448.8958

security@intelguardians.com

Posted by Knaab on Sun Sep 7, 2008 @ 7:52 pm EDT

I vote for disembowelment.

Posted by Speedbump on Sun Sep 7, 2008 @ 7:54 pm EDT

wow that is real messed up

Posted by Caesar on Sun Sep 7, 2008 @ 8:51 pm EDT

Just pay a hacker to kill their website. That's total bullshit man.

Posted by TANK on Sun Sep 7, 2008 @ 11:44 pm EDT

Oh, you can sue them over trademark infringement because they copied your logo. That's 100% guaranteed.


Posted by TANK on Sun Sep 7, 2008 @ 11:52 pm EDT

Wow, even most of the copied page still says "TechDiversions" on it too. Sorry to see this happened to you man.

Posted by Rayne46 on Mon Sep 8, 2008 @ 10:58 am EDT

You must login or register to leave a comment.

Blog Stats

Since 8/20/2006:

  • Viewed 20489 times
  • Bookmarked 84 times
This month:
  • Viewed 78 times
Subscribe:

My Consoles

Currently Playing