codemonkey
Name: codemonkey
Joined On: Jun 15, 2005
Maintag: codemonkey420
Age: 32
Occupation: Corporate Systems Engineer [Pre-Sales]
Location: New Hampshire
Currently: Offline
Last seen: 12/1/08
4472 Member Points
My Gamertags
codemonkey420
Wii
2242-9346-1210-2874
My Clans
My Bookmarks
BrokenDesign
Buffy
DSmooth
Knaab
LadyisRed
Lithium
syschaos
trupundit
Who has bookmarked me?
AbeFroman
Agonizing_Gas
ATC_1982
Avril
a_burn
BalekFekete
BATMANKM
bigeks
BrokenDesign
Buffy
caesar
CapnHun
chemterror
codemunkee
corcki
danlecrinque
DarthCestual
Dawnfades
deaddrphibes
DEEP_NNN
Derf
donkhorse
DragoonTamer
DruishPrincess
DSmooth
eksessiv
elihuc
Exedus
Falelorn
fecknmental
firewtr96
grants
irion
IvanTakillya
JeepChick77
JHall55
JollyRodgerX
JollyRoger
Jrod
jtgjr007
kingdrewsky
knaab
lbsutke
Lester_Ziggs
Liger117
Lonewolf
LtBlarg
mac79
MikeJames
MikeTheKnife
millfire517
newboyx
nikita8
northernplato
NotStyro
Orion_Assante
OrzoKhan
Punman
rabbmasterflash
RagingBull888
ReBIRTH
Retrogirl546
Robbway
Rock
rumbagod
SirPoonga
snakemeister
SoupNazzi
supergg2k
Supimp
syschaos
tbox
TexasTwister55
the5thchild
TheCrazyPerson
trupundit
umbee
UnwashedMass
vinnie2k
wareaglebeene1
wigman
wilderz
xXXxTwistedxXXx
yem
09/11/08 Return to main blog
Sometimes your threats work
So, if you go back and read my last entry, you'll see that my wifes store (our store really) was dupped for another site who setup a mirror of our site, changed part of the name (and domain) and was somehow selling false products and causing customers to call US and email US. The site is finally down! You'll see nothing at http://www.psp-shop.com/ that looks like my site, as a matter of fact, it doens't look like anything-it's gone.
So, what did i do? I started by doing a "whois" check to see if the person that registered the domain left their records public, which they did. So, like a typical spammer, I took that e-mail contact and fired off a threatening letter telling them the problem and that legal action was to follow. I then received an e-mail:
I have found that this site was replicated by our webmaster, this site was created as fake to support our clients who refer to this domain.
Nothing was selling on this site. sorry for this, we have redo this site.
Apparently the e-mail sounded as if they used my site template for their design (not the first time someone has taken a website design template to work off of) but the fact that I had real people contacting me and telling me they bought something from that exact website he said "was not seling anything" is beyond me.
End result, site is offline, good riddence. Glad I didn't have to find a second measure of attack.
Oddly enough, their webhost provider, iWeb, didn't get back to me at all when I sent them an email at their website "abuse" address. Go figure.
Posted by codemonkey on Thu Sep 11, 2008 @ 12:50 am EDT | 7 Comments
Posted by Gatsu on Thu Sep 11, 2008 @ 12:54 am EDT
Posted by Durty on Thu Sep 11, 2008 @ 3:12 am EDT
Posted by doodirock on Thu Sep 11, 2008 @ 3:19 am EDT
Posted by ATC_1982 on Thu Sep 11, 2008 @ 4:22 am EDT
Posted by Caesar on Thu Sep 11, 2008 @ 8:03 am EDT
Posted by char on Thu Sep 11, 2008 @ 8:49 am EDT
Posted by char on Thu Sep 11, 2008 @ 8:50 am EDT
